Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Our Untold Story releases new official single 'Go for Broke'

The European punk band known as Our Untold Story have released their newest official single, “Go for Broke.” The track has dropped concurrently with its B-side, “Calm Seas Don't Make Good Sailors.” Both have been proudly published on the XJT Music / Cuprite Productions independent record labels without the direction or support of the corporate music industry. Vocals belted out, speakers booming, guitars roaring, and drums played way down deep in the groove, “Go for Broke” and “Calm Seas Don't...” are the latest reasons music fans everywhere should be paying strict attention to this explosive, unstoppable crew from Sweden.

Based in Stockholm, the heart of Our Untold Story is composer, singer and guitarist Xander Turian. As the founding member Turian has kept his group relentlessly active since 2012. He cites as main artistic influences the Doors, Iggy Pop, the Rolling Stones, Green Day, Foo Fighters, and the Hives. No one example from above represents the sound of “Go for Broke” or “Calm Seas Don't Make Good Sailors,” but the melange of all of them comes very close.

As a result, fans of verve-charged classic rock and the gritty, pulsing punk sound both will be enthusiastic to hear this new Our Untold Story release. Longtime fans of Xander Turian and Our Untold Story will find much in the singles for them, especially.

Speaking of the themes of these new tracks, Turian writes, “'Go for Broke' is inspired by old poker-themed parties we used to have after our shows. We would invite fans, friends and crew to party backstage or back at my place and play poker. We partied all night long. During one of these parties, of course, there was a girl... There is always a girl.”

The title of the B-side, “Calm Seas Don't Make Good Sailors,” will sound familiar to some.

Writes Turian, “'Calm Seas...' is an African proverb. It means that experience and wisdom are gained through rough patches and pitfalls in life. This is a song to remind us that what does not kill us only makes us stronger, to keep on pushing the boundaries of our comfort zones, to continually grow and to appreciate what we have and what we have achieved in life thus far.”

Recording with Our Untold Story on these tracks are Philip Bengtsson (drums) Johan Weidenhaijn (bass) Jonas Egnell (bass) Leonel Andersson (lead guitar) and Kris Lempiäinen (lead guitar). “Go for Broke” and “Calm Seas Don't Make Good Sailors” were recorded and produced by Dan Östlund and Fredrik Pettersson at Missing Man Recordings, Sweden, and Mastered by Eric Broyhill at Monster Audio Labs. Cover art for the release comes from Kamil CamKam Janowski for Kjanowski Photography.

“Go for Broke” and “Calm Seas Don't Make Good Sailors” by Our Untold Story are available at over 700 digital music stores online worldwide beginning 3 June 2016. Get in early, rock fans.

-S. McCauley
Lead Press Release Writer

Website –

No comments:

Post a Comment